We all have strengths and surprise, surprise we don’t all have the same ones.

CSM’s Blog Day 4:

WOW!!! I really don’t know how they do it but it just continues to work.  The whole Army Strong thing (you may have seen the commercials) comes to mind as we discussed strengths today.  We all have strengths and surprise, surprise we don’t all have the same ones.  How do you show your Soldiers and Family members how to use their strengths individually and team work to accomplish more?  There’s a trick to it and believe it or not, it’s teachable… I got the book, I bought into the program and I drank the Kool-Aid.  There are reasons for excitement; it comes from a deep seated sense of being a part of something greater than myself… I understand now it’s part of what makes me who I am.  The next time my Wife, that’s what I call her, says; “hey, why are you acting that way?” I can show her the VIA strengths chart and tell her, “see?” I’m sure she’ll understand me immediately and I can go back to watching the last three recorded Cowboys vs. Eagles games!

 The link to the VIA strength test is: www.authentichappiness.sas.upenn.edu/default.aspx

 How do you use it? You need to take it honestly, then print the results, all 24 of them not just the top 5.  Reflect on them and try to understand where your strengths lie.  Do the same for your Soldiers and then assist them in understanding where their strengths lie.  Put them in positions that allow opportunities to utilize their strengths and watch their resiliency grow.  Kinda like a recipe you follow when baking a cake.  We are not first time bakers but that’s not all we do, (sit around and bake cakes,) we multitask in order to get to the objective, cake baking just happens to be one of the points on the course…

 Wife and my daughter are getting ready to fly to Big D, and I do mean Dallas, my daughter has a cheer competition down there this weekend. I won’t get to talk to them until late tonight or tomorrow. Son get’s to stay with grandma, she gives him everything, it always makes him happy.

No comments yet

Leave a comment